Happiness · Personal · Self-Improvement

“Relax. It’s gonna be OK”

oprahquote

This past Saturday marked 100 DAYS of “Before I Go Blog”! I, of course, had all kinds of BIG PLANS to mark that day- so many ideas for posts and where I would be by this point. But when I looked at this long list of ideas, guess what? I got overwhelmed.

And when I get overwhelmed, I stall out.

I think we can all relate to that feeling of “why hasn’t x, y, or z happened for me yet?”, right? I call them my ticker-tape thoughts: Why aren’t I married? Why don’t I have more money? Why don’t I have more friends? Why, why, why…ad infinitum.

But when you look at people who have succeeded, time and time again they say the same thing:

Success does not come without failure, and happiness does not come from “success”.

Today I woke up feeling particularly sorry for myself that I hadn’t written a blog post in such a long time. That I had missed the “100th day” goal I had set. That I haven’t had much to report on my training for Macchu Picchu and the Inca Trail. And then, I saw the below video.

Now, regardless of what you think of her, Oprah undoubtedly has what people would call “success”. On the surface, she has it all- money for days, her own network, fame, a steady relationship, she wants for NOTHING. And yet, so many people in her position lead lives that are “unhappy”. What I like about this lady, is she is on a constant quest to improve her life in a REAL, inner-peace kinda way. And what she says in this video really inspires me:

“What is the NEXT right move? And then from THAT space, make the NEXT right move, and the NEXT right move, and not to be overwhelmed by it because you KNOW your life is bigger than that one moment. You know you’re not defined by what somebody says is a failure for you- because failure is just there to point you in a different direction.” – Oprah Winfrey

So, here’s me taking MY next right move by posting today and not worrying so much about what my picture of success is. I hope it leaves you feeling inspired to take YOUR next right step!

 

https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FMyPublicist1%2Fvideos%2Fvb.114230231974795%2F823080317756446%2F%3Ftype%3D3&show_text=0&width=560

Leave a Reply

